Prospecting Brookie Water in the Way Back

This place is a good bit out of the way and tough to get to, but I have big hopes for it this season.

The headwaters are fed by several springs along a two mile or so stretch. I suspect we’ll find some native brook trout. Sure is a lot of moose sign. I found a nice shed to use for knife handles, but that is for another blog entry.

I ran into this water while hunting grouse several years ago and had been putting off discovering what it was–where it was born and what it became. The answer surprised me.

This is the first slideshow with the blog facility. It seems to work. I hope you enjoy the pictures. In that one with Bromley (the orange belton) on the rock in the middle of a run, he got himself in a fix and was looking for help. The water was more fierce than it looks in the picture.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by John McGranaghan on May 9, 2010.

Leave a comment