Time and Place

I wonder sometimes, in the fading light

On a stream of moving water, as a brook trout bites

Why I was born in a place and time

Where leisure is possible and I’m not blind

The earth is quite large and varies throughout

Many people have little and have not met a trout

Where only survival is given their time

Too worried and scared to know a stream so sublime

Sometimes I feel guilty, sometimes its remorse

But it serves very little–I know that of course

At the end of the day, I choose to give thanks

To the Maker of all–a time and place–yes, thanks

~ by John McGranaghan on June 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “Time and Place”

  1. A beautiful poem and so true. We are blessed to be in our luxurious positions, more reason so to give something back to our fellow earthlings. Giving thanks is perhaps one of the most important things in our life, a prayer to acknowledge Creator for the blessings we’re granted.

    Truly enjoying your poetry and perhaps a good idea for your header picture could be a painting or drawing from those aspects/subjects you love and write about? There surely must be some artists in your circle, right?

  2. Olivier–that is a good thought. Actually, my wife Toni is an artist.
    I’ll see what she thinks over pancakes and bacon.
    🙂

Leave a comment