Hatch’s Emerger II

So as not to just drop the ongoing saga into the place where non-going sagas end up…an update.

This nearly fishable version is one of the latest using wood duck. It marks an end to a chapter of sorts in this particular apprentice fly tiers career.

I’m moving on to tying some using partridge hackle instead because when last at Stone River Outfitters, Nate showed me a couple tied by the inventor himself. Mr. Hatch tied his with partridge hackle and still using wood duck as the tail, I figured I’d best do the same. Besides–its much easier than this infernal twirling of wood duck. I plan to get to the bench over this weekend, so for a chuckle and a smile. See ya in a day or two.

Hatch’s Emerger–Wood duck style

~ by John McGranaghan on February 11, 2011.

Leave a comment