Multi-Purpose Walk About

One of the most difficult aspects of owning (or being owned by) loving dogs is dealing with the look in their eyes when you are about getting ready to load into the truck without them. It can be heart wrenching. These particular setters are better at leveraging that ability than most and so many times a loan outing with rod in hand is simply not doable. Such was this past Sunday afternoon. So–all of us loaded up and went prospecting for more brookie water along with the hope of a pointed bird in our hearts. English Setters are pretty good at finding both. Mostly, Toni and I follow behind and make sure that more mischief than is healthy isn’t gotten into. It was a lovely afternoon with temps just warm enough to demand a dip or two. Particularly for those wearing a fur coat.

By the way. If you are curious about that piece of music, it is called ‘The Hymn of Ordinary Motion’ written and played by Edgar Meyer, Jerry Douglas and Russ Barenberg and it is one of the prettiest pieces that I know. I hope that you enjoy it as I do.

~ by John McGranaghan on May 9, 2012.

2 Responses to “Multi-Purpose Walk About”

  1. I’ve always loved that piece, and now….even more so. It fit perfectly. Every morning my dog Banjo sits, patiently waiting to see if this is a day he gets to “go.” Even when I’m in my work clothes, and he sees no fly rod in sight; still, he hopes. Thank you for this beautiful post. It brightened my day tremendously.

    • I am very glad that my wee post brightened your day. I can hardly think of what would be more gratifying. Thank you.

Leave a comment