The Kid In Us…

Or maybe not. Maybe it’s something more universal. I just packed up the truck for four days of fishing in the north country starting in New Hampshire and most likely ending in Maine. Float tube in back, kayak on top just in case and a drift trip on the Androscoggin in the mix. I always take more stuff than I need, but I’ve always figured that someone is going to forget something. That boy scout in me perhaps? Yup–after all of the years living on the planet and taking trips for the sake of one activity or another, the excitement when preparing has never waned. I may or may not sleep well tonight with pictures of trout and bent rods dancing in my head, but whether I do or not that energy will carry me through until I do. Whether its the kid in me or something in the dna of humans that ensures a good flow of adrenaline when preparing for a ‘flight’ of sorts–I welcome it.

We are so fortunate to be able to pursue activities such as fly fishing in a country of relative prosperity and peace. Many are not so fortunate. I count myself blessed, indeed.

~ by John McGranaghan on May 16, 2012.

One Response to “The Kid In Us…”

  1. Great blog…very creative! Guess what I’ve been doing? The garage is clear for the first time. I had Backyard Rooms add on an extension for my hunting and fishing gear. Could even fit in a new kayak if I wanted to. Check it out at
    Backyard Rooms

Leave a comment