Dog Boots

I have learned that there is a need for paw protection where quail, pheasant and prairie chickens hang out in Oklahoma and Kansas. They call these things sand burs and although I have seen them in sandy areas in New England, I don’t recall ever seeing them in Ruffed Grouse and Woodcock covers.

Nasty little things they are and could put a halt to a hunt and cause a bird dog some pain. We don’t want either, so measures are called for.

There are several choices in dog boots including a variety of DYI types, but I’ve decided to go with Lewis Dog Boots. They are favored by many upland hunters–so I’ve ordered a set of four for Tucker. The vented type are suggested in warm climates.

Screen Shot 2017-11-06 at 1.42.24 PM

I’ve long done business with Gun Dog Supply and was glad to see that Steve Snell of Gun Dog Supply carried them. Ya–a little promotion there. Steve is a fellow dog man and upland hunter and it follows that he is well aware of what works and what doesn’t.

I’ll report on them following next weekend’s adventure.

~ by John McGranaghan on November 6, 2017.

One Response to “Dog Boots”

  1. Nice work Sett…SB said that…..

Leave a comment