WCC Brown Slayer

Several years ago, fishing with friends Mike Kroll and Mike McDonald up on West Canada Creek Upstate after a rain…the water was fast and deep.
I located a deep scoop hole at the head of a run where I suspect browns might be holding. I reached into my pack and dug out a nice meaty looking weighted pattern that seemed would do the job of reaching those trout holding in a place of refuge. Sure enough casting 20 feet above in order to allow some time for the fly to drop deep enough yielded the desired outcome.
This would be that brown from that day in 2013.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my version of the memory I have of that fly.
My intention is to soon offer it to some small mouth bass that live in a nearby creek.
WCCBS

~ by John McGranaghan on February 7, 2019.

2 Responses to “WCC Brown Slayer”

  1. That’ll catch smallies.

    Try a mop fly too, if you haven’t already.

  2. I wasn’t familiar with a Mop pattern until just now. I will try it out. Thank you.

Leave a comment