Endeavoring To Persevere

I love that line. My favorite of Clint Eastwood’s spaghetti westerns remains ‘The Outlaw Josie Wales’. My favorite part is where he is talking with Lone Watie and he was recalling the story of negotiations with the big chief in Washington…We thought about it for a long time, “Endeavor to persevere.” And when we had thought about it long enough, we declared war on the Union.

Anyway, I’ve since made it a point to use that phrase whenever the opportunity presents itself. I think it sounds cool. “Endeavor to persevere”. Have you ever felt like a complete failure when tying a fly and with even 3 or 4 tries you just can’t make it work? I’ve got that going for me right now with this poor excuse for Rick Estes’ ‘Swamp Donkey Stimulator’.

This donkey needs work. Maybe I need smaller hackle. It seems so after looking at the enlarged picture.

~ by John McGranaghan on May 10, 2012.

Leave a comment