A Few More Winter Flies

Haven’t had much to blog about, so I reckon some more flies from this ‘apprentice’ tier won’t hurt.

I was getting inconsistent results with my soft hackle raps, so I stopped in a spent and few minutes with Dan over at Stone River Outfitters. Dan is a good old boy with a fly or two under his belt and he took the time to give me a lesson and great tips.

It seems that I wasn’t folding the hackle back to help separate the fibers, so Dan showed me a nice little technique using the back edge of the scissors. It will take me a while to get it down, but this was a big help. So much to learn. That green dubbed soft hackle is the first tie using Dan’s technique.

The others are my first attempts at making up Pheasant Tail Nymphs and the other some playing around with flash and floss. All good fun and might even catch a fish on one.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by John McGranaghan on December 26, 2010.

One Response to “A Few More Winter Flies”

  1. James,
    Dan rules…
    I had questions on the wood duck heron. He broke out the vise and tied one and showed us the hackle and how to wrap the wood duck feather. Very detailed and extremely helpful.

    I get a lot of stuff from those guys. It’s nice having a local shop that know their stuff.

    -Eric

Leave a comment