First Streamer Fly Under Good Tutelage

I spent a wonderful time with my friend Reed Curry, otherwise known in concentric circles as ‘Overmywaders’, today.

Reed is one of the few individuals I know that can put up with my brand of insanity and generally is able to respond in kind to my monosyllabic grunts. I think that he either has an advanced degree in deviant behavioral psychology, or is just a really nice guy.

Somewhere along the line, I was taught to tie a streamer. My very first streamer. It took three tries to get to the one pictured below. I don’t respond well to being beaten about the head and neck with tying hardware and screeches of “think proportions” and “you forgot the buck tail”, but eventually the instruction translated to the vise and the result is questionable, but pictured anyway.

While this fiasco was taking place, Reed was distractedly working on a marabou concoction of blues and whites that hold mystery for me; though I suspect the trout will understand well.

Can anyone name this streamer?

First Streamer (3rd)

Reed's Marabou

~ by John McGranaghan on July 10, 2010.

6 Responses to “First Streamer Fly Under Good Tutelage”

  1. How about a SWAG? Mickey’s cousin Woody – A Woody Finn!?!?
    A rose by any other name . . .

  2. It has a name given long ago
    A fly for New England
    A fly for to know

  3. John

    I left you a message on your post about the thumb nail photo’s in a forum post over at FFinNH. It is simple to do and sure makes it easier to add a photo to a post over there. Same is true on my site, you can use the attachment area to add photo’s and place them in the post.

    Thanks
    Lee

  4. I saw that Lee. It took me a minute to figure out that although the preview didn’t show the image, it appeared in the actual post.
    Thank you much.

  5. That fly is called ‘Maynard’s Marvel’ and was developed by a fellow named Maynard up in Pittsburg, NH back in the 1920’s.

  6. John

    You are correct, I just looked at Bill Thompsons site and has a recipe for the Golden Marvel which is very simalar but it has golden pheasent crest for the wing.

    Thanks
    Lee

Leave a comment